Rattray signs on for MX World Champs

first_img9 September 2013 At the time, the teenage Rattray was relatively unknown in international motocross circles. He joined fellow South Africa Gareth Swanepoel on the international circuit, and the two of them made waves until Rattray finally picked up a ride with the KTM factory team. He went on to be crowned world champion in 2008. Now 28, he first relocated from South Africa to Germany in 2000 to compete internationally and qualified for his first GP races in 2001 at the age of just 15. Waters, who team up with Rattray in the MX1 line-up for Husqvarna, is currently racing for the Motorex KTM Racing Team in Australia. He has overcome injury in the current season to be in second position in the 2013 National Championship after nine of 10 rounds. Langston got his break in 1998 when he moved to the Netherlands, followed two years later by his victory in the 125cc World Championships. South Africa’s Tyla Rattray has been signed by the Husqvarna Factory Racing team for the 2014 FIM Motorcross World Championships. Rattray is a former world champion, having won the MX2 (250cc) title in 2008. ManagerFinnish Motocross legend Antti Pyrhonen, presently of F1 star Kimi Raikkonen’s Ice One Racing, will manage the Red Bull Ice One Husqvarna Factory Racing MX1 team and brings with him a wealth of first-hand experience in motocross and personal association with the Husqvarna brand. “The new Red Bull Ice One Husqvarna factory team is aiming for the top. We believe it can be reached by our dedication to the sport, and by the commitment of our riders and their determined will to win.” Husqvarna, which is based in Austria after a 2013 takeover by Pierer Industrie AG, recently made clear its intention to be a major player in next year’s Championship series by entering a full factory team for both MX1 and MX2 classes. AMA competitionRattray, who won the MX2 World Championship with the Red Bull KTM Factory Racing Team in 2008, has spent recent seasons competing in the AMA Supercross (SX) and Motocross (MX) competitions in the USA, and ended the 2011 season as runner-up in the AMA 250 MX class. SA’s first world championTwo decades ago Albertyn became South Africa’s first MX world champion when he won the 125cc (two-stroke) Championship in 1992. He later won two 250cc World Championships – in 1993 and 1994 – before relocating to the USA. In the MX1 (450cc) class it will be Rattray and Australian Todd Waters wearing the Husqvarna colours, while in the MX2 (250cc) class Romain Febvre of France and Alexandr Tonkov of Russia will represent the new team. “Ice One Racing is pleased to welcome Tyla Rattray and Todd Waters, both from outside Europe, to the World Championship series,’ said Raikkonen. SAinfo reporter Five years ago, Rattray became only the third South African to win a FIM Motocross World Championship, following in the footsteps of Grant Langston and Greg Albertyn, when he became the MX2 world champion after the Italian Grand Prix in September 2008. last_img read more

Ohio State Fair 50 Year Club meeting July 30

first_imgShare Facebook Twitter Google + LinkedIn Pinterest The 2018 Ohio State Fair 50 Year Club is set to have its annual meeting on Monday, July 30. The 50 Year Club of the Ohio State Fair is an organization that is open to all fairgoers who have attended an Ohio State Fair 50 or more years ago, even just once.If someone attended before 1969, the club holds an annual meeting during the Fair and aims to support, improve and promote the Fair.
This year, the 79th annual meeting will be held Monday, July 30, in the Rhodes Center Auditorium.  Registration begins at 8:30 am and the program starts at 9:15 am. Refreshments will be provided.“The 50 Year Club is a great way to meet fairgoers and share memories of past Ohio State Fairs,” said 50 Year President Connie Cahill.  “My experiences go back to my childhood and driving from Northwest Ohio to and from [the Fair] in one day.”If you have attended one Ohio State Fair before 1969, you are eligible to become a member of the 50 Year Club.  Many of the current members have attended the Fair for countless years and enjoy the opportunity to meet others who share common interests. Attendees can come the day of the annual meeting and register on site.“I love being a member and spending time with others during our yearly meeting.  There is no cost to be a member, but I want to encourage anyone who has attended at least one Ohio State Fair in the past fifty years to join us in the Rhodes Center,” said Cahill.The program will include musical selections by the All-Ohio State Fair Youth Choir “Scarlet Singers,” followed by an informative program and awards presentation, ending with a concert by the All-Ohio State Fair Band. The 50 Year Club provides a great opportunity for fairgoers to learn, contribute and celebrate the rich history of the Ohio State Fair.Visit the 50 Year Club Facebook page at www.facebook.com/groups/50YearClub/about/ for updates, stories and to find out more about the upcoming 2018 meeting. For more information regarding the 50 Year Club contact Barb Prince at [email protected] or 614-644-4052.
For more information, call 1-888-OHO-EXPO or 1-614-644-FAIR. On the Web, visit us at ohiostatefair.com.last_img read more